October 11, 2002 - Former President Carter wins the Nobel Peace Prize

Only four presidents have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize—and three of them have family ties to the state of Georgia! Here’s a list of all the presidential winners of the prestigious honor.

  • Theodore Roosevelt, 1906
  • Woodrow Wilson, 1920
  • Jimmy Carter, 2002
  • Barack Obama, 2009

Carter was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his tireless efforts to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development. Carter, a peanut farmer from Georgia, served one term as U.S. president between 1977 and 1981.

Article written by Sarah Wyland

Sarah Wyland
Sarah never gets in trouble for being on Facebook and Instagram at work, because its her job. As social media manager, she gets to tell the stories of travelers, teachers, and interesting places. Other titles she enjoys include dog mom to Knox, barre instructor, Crossfit athlete, avid reader, and world traveler.
Categories: Education