Three Presidents In One Year

Only two times in American history have there been three presidents that served in the same year. The first time was in 1841 and the second was in 1881. The 1881 year started with Rutherford B. Hayes as president, then he relinquished the office to James A. Garfield in March. Later, Charles J. Guiteau shot President Garfield, which ultimately led to his death. Then, Vice President Chester A. Arthur succeeded Garfield.

Here are some fun facts about each of these presidents:

President Hayes

  • Hayes is one of five presidents to have served in the Civil War.
  • He was the first president to use a telephone while in office.
  • Hayes and his wife held the first Easter egg roll on the White House lawn.

President Garfield

  • Garfield was the first left-handed and ambidextrous person.
  • He was the first president to campaign in multiple languages; he also promoted himself in German.
  • Garfield was one of seven presidents to be born in a log cabin.

President Arthur

  • Arthur was a night owl and often didn’t go to bed until two or three in the morning.
  • He was the first president to take the Oath of Office in his own home.
  • Arthur did not give an Inaugural Address.

Article written by Sarah Wyland

Sarah Wyland
Sarah never gets in trouble for being on Facebook and Instagram at work, because its her job. As social media manager, she gets to tell the stories of travelers, teachers, and interesting places. Other titles she enjoys include dog mom to Knox, barre instructor, Crossfit athlete, avid reader, and world traveler.
Category: History